Find out about relevant institutions and organisations related to the Adriatic-Ionian Region. This non-exhaustive list is expected to grow over time. Would you like to see your institution on the list? Contact us and provide the necessary information.

  • Accepted file types: jpg, png.
    Accepted file types: jpg, jpeg, png, gif.




UniAdrion is an association of universities and research centres of the Adriatic-Ionian area established in 2000 with the purpose to create a permanent connection among these institutions, within the framework of the Adriatic-Ionian Initiative.

The purpose of UniAdrion is the collaboration between universities and research centres with the aim of strengthening international cooperation and of favouring the progress of culture, science, training and research in the countries of the Adriatic-Ionian basin.

The association comprises about 42 members located in the following countries: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia.

UniAdrion promotes scientific-academic cooperation mainly through the implementation of teaching and research initiatives, such as training courses, post-graduate diplomas, summer schools, joint research projects. The cooperation is focused on different topics, coherent with the pillars of the EU Strategy for the Adriatic-Ionian Region (EUSAIR): blue growth, connecting the region, environmental quality, sustainable tourism and cultural heritage, societal challenges, economic and policy analysis.

Adriatic Ionian Euroregion

The Adriatic Ionian Euroregion (AIE) is a transnational association of 33 regional and local authorities of Italy, Croatia, Greece, Bosnia Herzegovina, Montenegro and Albania. Established in 2006, the network represents the first model in the macro-regional area of institutional co-operation. Its main objective is to promote the transnational and interregional cooperation between its members with common projects and initiatives.

Forum of the Adriatic and Ionian Chambers of Commerce (AIC Forum)

The AIC Forum is a transnational, project oriented, non-profit association linking the chambers of commerce of the eight countries of the Adriatic and Ionian Macroregion. Its aim is to strengthen the synergies and opportunities for socio-economic development of the Adriatic and Ionian area with particular attention to transports, environment, women entrepreneurship, tourism, fishing and maritime affairs, agriculture.

European Commission, DG REGIO

The website of the European Commission, Directorate-General for Regional and Urban Policy is the main EU portal on the development of the EU Strategy for the Adriatic-Ionian Region.

Adriatic and Ionian Interregional Group at the Committee of the Regions

This group was set up in January 2013. It aims at representing an Adriatic-Ionian opinion gathering platform, facilitating a broad exchange of views, ideas and practices between CoR members and representatives of European institutions and bodies, networks, Adriatic Ionian fora, EU and non-EU countries authorities of the eight States involved in the EU Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian Region.

Adriatic & Ionian Initiative (AII)

The AII (which includes eight Members: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia) aims to strengthen regional cooperation in order to promote political and economic stability, thus creating a solid base for the process of European integration.

Forum of Adriatic and Ionian Cities

The Forum of Adriatic and Ionian Cities (FAIC) is a non-profit international association open to municipalities of the Adriatic-Ionian basin.

It was founded in Ancona in 1999, upon the initiative of the Municipality of Ancona and of the National Association of Italian Municipalities (ANCI), with the approval of the “Charter of Ancona”, establishing a set of principles aiming at creating a place for intercultural dialogue and political mediation and fostering a peaceful Adriatic and Ionian community, open to Europe.

Today it represents a tool for economic, political, cultural and human cooperation, broadly in line with the European Union Strategy for the Adriatic Ionian Region (EUSAIR).

It brings together local authorities of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Montenegro, Slovenia, and it is open to those from Serbia and North Macedonia.